Endowed Scholarship Fund at MSU Honorees 2017

The MSU Alumni Club of the Muskegon Lakeshore Area


Lance & Sue Kohley

Lance and Sue Kohley, long time Muskegon residents and owner operators of Kohley’s Superior Water & Propane, have been strong MSU supporters.

Lance obtained his Bachelor degree from MSU in 1976 in Hospitality Management. He joined his father’s business in 1980 and continued the family business for over 60 years. He has been active in the Michigan Water Quality Association for many years serving as president for the past 5 years. Lance has served on the board of Directors of the MSU Alumni Club of the Muskegon Lakeshore Area for the past 10 years. He continues as treasure for the last five years. He is a big Spartan athletics fan.

Sue was a lifelong resident of Muskegon, graduated from nursing school and was employed by Mercy Hospital for 28 years. She passed away in 2017 after a courageous six-year battle with breast cancer. This contribution is in memory of Sue Kohley.


Bill & Mary Robb

G. William (Bill) and Mary B. Robb, Muskegon residents since 2005, have been strong MSU supporters in the west Michigan area.

» Bill obtained his Bachelor of Science from MSU in 1974. After obtaining an MS from Pennsylvania State University he started a 34 year career at Michigan State University Extension, He held several leadership roles in Extension while working in the agriculture community. He retired from MSU in 2010. He has been a 9 year member of the MSU Alumni Club of the Muskegon Lakeshore Area board of directors. He has served on the golf committee and chaired the events committee for many years.

» Mary obtained her Master’s degree from MSU in 1994. She worked for MSU Extension for 25 years as an educator in family and consumer sciences and leadership and community development. She was the Muskegon County Extension Director from 2005-2010 and finished her career working with new food entrepreneurs in west Michigan. She has been on the board of directors of the MSU Alumni Club of the Muskegon Lakeshore Area since 2006. She served as president for 7 years, during which several of the existing scholarship funds were expanded and several new ones established.